

Public Works

21 Reeve Street PO Box 1614 Woodstock ON N4S 7Y3 Tel 519-539-9800 | Fax 519-421-4711

MEMO

DATE: Wednesday, February 13, 2019

FROM: David Simpson, Director of Public Works

TO: Oxford County Striking Committee

CC: Cassandra Banting, Coordinator of Source Protection Program

Deborah Goudreau, Manager of Water and Wastewater Services

Peter Crockett, CAO Chloe Senior, Clerk

RE: Lake Erie Region Source Protection Committee Municipal Member Nomination

Howard Cornell was appointed in 2007 as a municipal member of the Lake Erie Region Source Protection Committee (Committee) to represent *Oxford County, the Township of East Zorra-Tavistock, the Township of Blandford-Blenheim, the Township of Norwich, the City of Woodstock, the Township of Southwest Oxford, the Town of Tillsonburg, Perth County, the Municipality of North Perth and the Township of Perth East, all of which have jurisdiction within the Lake Erie Source Protection Region. This Committee oversees work in 3 watersheds in Oxford County: Catfish Creek, Grand River and Long Point Region. During the initial selection for the Committee member representation, Oxford County and its Area Municipalities, along with Perth County were asked to put forward names from interested members of Council or members of the public.*

Based on this interest at the time, Oxford County Council (the municipal drinking water system purveyor) voted on the candidate selection and nominated Howard Cornell as a single representative. The candidate selection was also supported and endorsed by Perth County Council.

In May 2018, Howard Cornwell indicated his intent to resign from the Committee resulting in the vacancy of a municipal member representative on the Committee. Accordingly, it is recommended that Oxford County confer with Perth County, and the respective area municipalities and pass Council resolutions naming a jointly selected Committee member representative replacement.



With approvals of the Grand River, Catfish Creek and Long Point Source Protection Plans (Plans), the role of the Committee has shifted from initial plan development into a monitoring phase. The Committee is now primarily focused on monitoring Plan implementation efforts, preparation of annual reports for the Source Protection Regions, and preparing amendments to the Plans and Assessment Reports. As such, many municipalities are recommending internal technical staff, such as Risk Management Officials, for member appointment to the Source Protection Committees. The Risk Management Officials have undertaken a significant role in the Plans' policy development, including the long term vision and responsibilities pertaining to their implementation and monitoring.

Accordingly, staff are recommending that Oxford County's Coordinator of Source Protection (Risk Management Official and Inspector) be nominated as the municipal representative for the Committee to fill the vacancy left by the previous member resignation. In this regard, staff are seeking endorsement by the Oxford County Striking Committee to nominate Oxford County's Coordinator of Source Protection for appointment to the Lake Erie Source Protection Committee.

Discussions with Perth County have indicated that they will support an Oxford County staff member nomination to the Committee and will pass the necessary resolution from Perth County Council. In addition, Oxford County has also recently notified the Area Municipality CAO's to determine if they have any interest in the selection of the Committee member replacement.

It is the preference of the Committee that all respective Councils with jurisdiction in the Lake Erie Source Protection Region (refer to first paragraph) pass resolutions to support the nomination by March 14, 2019. The decision to name the Committee representative replacement should be sent to the Lake Erie Source Protection Region to ensure the new municipal member representative can be appointed in time for the April 4, 2019 Lake Erie Region Source Protection Committee meeting. Failing that timing, the Committee may postpone the appointment until their June 20, 2019 meeting.