



Cultural, Heritage and Special Awards Advisory Committee

April 3, 2019 5:30 p.m. Suite 203, 200 Broadway, 2nd Floor

MINUTES

Present:

Deb Beard, Mark Dickson, Penny Esseltine, Terry Fleming, Vernon Fleming, Erin Getty, Carrie Lewis, James Murphy (Arrived at 5:37 p.m.), Collette Takacs.

Absent with Regrets:

Rosemary Dean

Also Present:

Amelia Jaggard, Legislative Services Coordinator

Also Absent:

Patty Phelps, Culture and Heritage Manager/Curator

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 5:31 p.m.

2. Adoption of Agenda

Resolution #1

Moved by: Erin Getty

Seconded by: Mark Dickson

THAT the Agenda as prepared for the Cultural, Heritage and Special Awards

Advisory Committee meeting of April 3, 2019, be adopted.

Carried

3. Disclosures of Pecuniary Interest and the General Nature Thereof

There were no disclosures of pecuniary interest declared.

4. Adoption of Minutes of Previous Meeting

Proposed Resolution #2

Moved by: Erin Getty

Seconded by: Penny Esseltine

THAT the Minutes of the Cultural, Heritage and Special Awards Advisory Committee meeting of March 6, 2019, be approved.

Carried.

5. Presentations/Deputations

Committee: Cultural, Heritage and Special Awards Advisory Committee Page - 2 - of 3

Date: April 3, 2019

6. General Business & Reports

- **6.1.** Set goals for term
 - Promote Century Plaque Program;
 - Promote Special Awards programs;
 - Plan for Town's 150th Anniversary;
 - To promote the Cultural Grant Program through traditional advertisement and social media promotion.
 - Provide advice on advertising and fundraising options to community event organizers through the use of an information handout or a networking opportunity.

Staff to look into further promotional options with the "Events Calendar" on the Town website.

James Murphy arrived at 5:37 p.m.

6.2. Ontario Senior of the Year Award – Update No applications have been received.

Staff to resend the Call for Nominations - Ontario Senior of the Year Award handout.

6.3. Citizen of the Year Award – Update

New release regarding Citizen of the Year nominations will be advertised during the month of April in the newspaper and on the Town website and social media pages. The deadline for nominations is May 1, 2019.

Collette Tackacs will MC the Citizen of the Year event.

Mark Dickson offered to sing the national anthem.

Staff provided a Citizen of the Year – Call for Nominations poster to committee members. A digital copy will be sent with the minutes.

6.4. Cultural Grant Application – Tillsonburg Thunder Senior AA Hockey Club The committee reviewed the application and passed the following resolution.

<u>Motion</u>

Moved by: Carrie Lewis Seconded by: Terry Fleming

THAT the Cultural, Heritage and Special Awards Advisory Committee approve the Cultural Grant Application submitted by the Tillsonburg Thunder Senior AA Hockey Club which requests funds to support the annual Tillsonburg Ribfest event:

AND THAT staff notify the applicant of the Committee's decision and to provide information regarding the applicant's responsibilities according to the Cultural Grant Guidelines;

Committee: Cultural, Heritage and Special Awards Advisory Committee Page - 3 - of 3

Date: April 3, 2019

AND THAT staff forward the Cultural Grant in the amount of \$2,000 to the Tillsonburg Thunder Senior AA Hockey Club.

Carried.

Staff to look into a "Cultural Grant Provided by the Town of Tillsonburg as approved by the Cultural, Heritage and Special Awards Advisory Committee" lawn sign.

6.5. Cultural Grant Guidelines and Application Review

Request that applications are submitted a minimum of six weeks before the event.

Request that applicants make a presentation at the next scheduled committee meeting after submitting a completed application.

7. Correspondence

7.1. Ministry of Government and Consumer Services Letter

8. Other Business

9. Next Meeting

Wednesday, May 1, 2019 at 5:30 at the Corporate Office in Suite 203.

10. Adjournment

Resolution #3

Moved by: Erin Getty

Seconded by: Carrie Lewis

THAT the April 3, 2019 Cultural, Heritage and Special Awards Advisory Committee meeting be adjourned at 6:32 p.m.

Carried.